top of page
  • Writer's pictureInterrupted Blogs

Muni Long, Jermaine Dupri, Bryan-Michael Cox to be Honored at ICE Medal of Honor

The Black American Music Association and its Board of Directors, led by Chairman Michael Mauldin, announces The ICE (Imperial Crown of Excellence) Medal of Honor inaugural celebration in Atlanta on June 2, 2024. The attendees of this groundbreaking historic event will be adorned in cocktail attire while dining, honoring and paying tribute to the legends, creative visionaries, and trailblazers within Black American music, who have captivated audiences worldwide and left an everlasting impact on the cultural landscape.

The ICE Medal of Honor seeks to shine a spotlight on the indelible contributions made by artists and executives who have enriched the world with their talents and also paved the way for generations to come. The ICE Medal of Honor will serve as a beacon of recognition & education of the Black American music art form, and an ode to the resilience, innovation, and brilliance of its creatives. Honorary hosts for this inaugural ceremony are Michael Mauldin, L.A. Reid & Chaka Zulu.

The Honorable Mayor Andre Dickens will be making a special toast and salute to the Honorees along with the City of Atlanta.  The Mayor is also being awarded the ICE - Culture & Community Leadership Honor.

Among the distinguished recipients of The ICE Medal of Honor are some of the most remarkable names in the industry, including:

●      Grandmaster Flash - Transformative Award

●      Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis - Global Creative Impact Honor

●      Suzanne de Passe - Trailblazer Honor

●      Jeffrey Harleston - Music Executive Leadership of the Year

●      Robert "Kool” Bell - Lifetime Achievement Honor

●      Muni Long, Jermaine Dupri, Bryan-Michael Cox - R&B Song of the Year

●      SoSo Def Records - Artist Development Label of an Era

●      LaFace Records - Artist Development Label of an Era

●      Domani Harris: New Developing Artist of the Year.  


"We are thrilled to launch the ICE Medal of Honor and to recognize these outstanding individuals who have made an enduring mark on the world through their art and creativity," said Michael Mauldin, Co-Producer and visionary behind the event. "This celebration is a testament to the power of Black American music in shaping culture and inspiring generations." 

The incomparable; Muni LongJermaine Dupri and Bryan-Michael Cox are being honored and will  receive “Song of the Year" for their viral sensational mega hit; “Made for Me.” Additionally, among those being recognized on June 2nd, are icons of legendary status such as the highly acclaimed GRAMMY winning producers Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis; who are celebrating fifty years of success and professional partnership within the business of music. Robert "Kool” Bell, a founding member of the R&B, soul, funk and disco band Kool & the Gang. A seminal hip hop founder, Grandmaster Flash is accepting the “Transformative Award.” He has been recognized as the first DJ to play the turntables as a musical instrument, helping to elevate the status of the DJ to a masterful, artistic position. In 2007, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five became the first hip hop group ever inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, with a GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Award, The BET Icon Award and many others already under his belt.

In addition to those who have made musical contributions, the ICE Medal of Honor will also honor those creative visionaries and business trailblazers who have made indelible contributions to Black American Music. Among those include Suzanne de Passe, Motown Productions’ first Black female president and discoverer of The Jackson 5 and The Commodores. With this award carrying Suzanne de Passes namesake she will then pass this honor on to another important individual from the Industry. Rounding out the list of Honorees is music label Executive Jeffrey Harleston General Counsel, EVP of Business & Legal Affairs of Universal Music Group. Harleston is also a member of UMG’s executive management board and he is responsible for the company’s government relations, trade and anti-piracy activities.

With the-arts, community, culture, music education, leadership and  mentorship of the next generation being a focused driven factor of both the Black American Music Association & Foundation; a special acknowledgement during the ICE Medal of Honor celebration is being given to the Otis Redding Foundation, dedicated to improving the quality of life for community through education and the empowerment of its youth. Also receiving recognition is Dr. Uzee Brown Jr., who retired earlier this year as professor and chair of the Morehouse College music department after 49 years of service to the institution. The past president of the National Association of Negro Musicians, his works have been performed internationally, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and beyond.

As Atlanta is the Host city for the inaugural event; there will also be a special recognition given to two of Atlanta’s most recent fallen soldiers; industry vet: Clay Evans and visionary hit maker: Rico Wade.

For more information on The Black American Music Association visit:


2 views0 comments


bottom of page