top of page
  • Writer's pictureInterrupted Blogs

12th Annual Salute Her Awards Celebrates Multi-Generational Excellence hosted by Loni Love

In the true essence of Sisterhood, Café Mocha radio network celebrates Black women in their fullness on Sunday May 8, 2022, during the 12th Annual Salute Her Awards, presented by AARP and Toyota. Just in time for Mother’s Day, the show will stream across Café Mocha and social media channels. This year, Café Mocha will honor esteemed select Mothers who have been intricate in paving the way for those coming behind them as thought leaders within our community. As a tribute to Coretta Scott King and the many women that have been the backbone of the civil rights movement, the 2022 Salute Her Awards show will be coming from The King Center in Atlanta, Georgia featuring special musical tribute performances from male balladeers; legendary Howard Hewett and the contemporary master Raheem DeVaughn. Additionally, the show will feature ‘herstory’ honoree vignettes and hosted by Café Mocha co-host Emmy, NAACP Image and Gracie Award-winning comedienne Loni Love. With a strong herstory of powerful women being celebrated, Café Mocha proudly announces 2022 Salute Her honorees led by Arndrea Waters King, President of the Drum Major Institute, and Yolanda Renee King, the only granddaughter of Martin Luther King Jr., in the Family Legacy category. Honored for her work as a civil rights leader and pioneer in the broadcasting industry is executive Ms. Xernona Clayton, founder and CEO of the Trumpet Awards receiving the Legend Award. For their profound impact in journalism, past and present, two female publishers will be honored as Media Trailblazers: Regina Jones, Co-founder and Publisher of SOUL Magazine, will receive the Media Legend Award, and Morgan DeBaun, Founder and CEO of Blavity, will be honored as a Media Innovator for changing the digital news landscape for millennials and Black America. Kiesha Nix, the first Black woman Vice President of Charitable Affairs for the Los Angeles Lakers, will receive the Bridging the Gap Award for her relentless climb to the top of the corporate ladder while reaching back for others. Socially conscious publicist for the Mothers of the Movement and Founder of Incarcerated Relief Resource Center, Nadia Fischer will be honored as this year’s Game Changer for her steadfast and revolutionary work in the community. In honor of Mrs. Coretta Scott King's legacy, Ebony Underwood was chosen for her commitment to human rights and social change. As Founder and CEO of WE GOT US NOW, she will receive the Community Activist award for her tireless effort to organize and advocate for young adults impacted by parental incarceration. Fresh off her three Grammy wins, Gospel Award-winning songstress CeCe Winanswill be honored along with daughter Ashley Phillips and Winans family matriarch Delores Winans. The first family of Gospel will receive the Spirit Award representing a collective family legacy of music that has inspired generations. The ‘Saluting Our Culture’ Salute Her & Salute THEM Award series was created to preserve the legacy and pay tribute to current trailblazers. Over the past 11 years, Café Mocha, the #1 nationally syndicated radio show for women of color, has paid tribute to over 200 distinguished women and men who significantly impact their communities and industries. “There has never been a shortage of high achieving women and men to be honored and that’s why we have created the ‘Saluting Our Culture’ award series. There is so much to be gained when we lean into the power of one another - and salute it!” says Sheila Eldridge, Founder and CEO of Miles Ahead Entertainment and Broadcasting and Café Mocha creator. Salute Her 2014 honoree Annette Nance-Holt, Chicago Fire Commissioner and Co-Founder of Purpose Over Pain, shares the significance of receiving the Salute Her Award for her work in the Chicago community, “I've made a vow that every day I breathe, I will help create a positive impact in the lives of others. I may have lost my son Blair Holt, but I haven't lost my purpose. To be recognized by other women for my purpose has been a blessing.” Past “Salute Her” honorees include Dr. Kizmekia Corbett, Luvvie Ajayi, Pam Grier, Marla Gibbs, Lamman Rucker, Cynthia Erivo, Dr. Bernice Kine, prima ballerina Misty Copeland, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Wendy Williams, Iyanla Vanzant and more. Support from the Saluting Our Culture’Salute Her & Salute THEM Award series benefit the Mocha Cares Foundation that provides products and services to help families in local shelters transition into homes. To stay in the loop with the latest from Café Mocha Radio, visit and follow Café Mocha Radio on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook. About Café Mocha Show and Salute Awards Series Café Mocha is the #1 nationally syndicated radio show for ‘women of color.’ Over the past ten years, more than 200 men, women, and organizations have been honored through the Salute Awards series who have a shared mission to make a difference by serving their communities. With a mission to preserve our legacy and pay tribute to current trailblazers past honorees include actors/actresses Pam Grier, Marla Gibbs, Lamman Rucker, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Cynthia Erivo, Holly Robinson Peete, Cynthia Bailey, Kim Fields, Malinda Williams, Terri J. Vaughn and Vy Higginsen; television personalities Wendy Williams and Iyanla Vanzant; musical performers Pastor Shirley Caesar, The Clark Sisters, Doug E. Fresh, Patti LaBelle, Gloria Gaynor, Stephanie Mills, Ludacris, Earth, Wind & Fire, Fantasia Barrino Taylor, Syleena Johnson and Tamela Mann; journalists Fredricka Whitfield, Constance White, Luvvie Ajayi, Lola Ogunnaike, Jamie Foster Brown; radio broadcaster Shirley Strawberry, fashion designer Barbara Bates, prima ballerina Misty Copeland, and activists Sybrina Fulton, Nupol Kiazolu, Dr. Bernice King, Deanna Brown Thomas, Ricki Fairley, Annette Nance- Holt, Wanda Durant, Michi Marshall and Ilyasah Shabazz. To learn more about Café Mocha radio visit About AARP AARP is the nation’s largest nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to empowering people 50 and older to choose how they live as they age. With a nationwide presence and nearly 38 million members, AARP strengthens communities and advocates for what matters most to families: health security, financial stability and personal fulfillment. AARP also produces the nation's largest circulation publications: AARP The Magazine and AARP Bulletin. To learn more, visit or follow @AARP and @AARPadvocates on social media.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page